Skip to main content

A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway Recognizes their Volunteers of the Year

By April 16, 2018June 18th, 2021No Comments

A1A’s 2017 Volunteer of the Year award ceremony

The byway organization honored their 2017 Volunteers of the Year during their March meeting, held at the Coastal Policy Center in Marineland, FL. Mark H. Smith and Marge Rooyakkers received their recognition awards from Danielle Anderson, Byway Administrator. Dani spoke of their hard work and dedication to the byway organization and its mission, especially during the 2017 calendar year of events. Mark, new to the Board of Directors in 2017 and Marge, a long-time board member, volunteer and advocate for the Friends of A1A, donated countless hours throughout the year to fundraising efforts and volunteerism for the organization.

A1A’s 2017 Volunteer of the Year award ceremony
Claudia Calzaretta, Suzie Johnston, Mark Smith, Marge Rooyakkers, Dani Anderson

Marge, vice president of the Friends of A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway and vice chair for the A1A River to Sea CME (PRIDE), serving the Hammock in Flagler County, organized the successful 2nd Annual Super Scenic Raffle in the fall of 2017. Proceeds from the event help support mission critical programs and initiatives sponsored by the byway organization throughout year. Mark, serving his first year with the organization, was a tremendous and enthusiastic asset to the organization’s volunteer team in 2017, stepping up to lend a hand during the 6th Annual Spoonbills & Sprockets Cycling Tour and the 9th Annual Super Scenic Garage Sale.

“We’re incredibly proud to recognize Marge and Mark as our 2017 Volunteers of the Year,” said Bill McClure, president of the Friends of A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway. “Both were instrumental in our successes over the past year and truly embody the spirit of volunteerism,” he said.