Skip to main content

Friends of A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway Dedicate All-American Road with Ribbon Cutting Ceremony

By April 10, 2022May 27th, 2022No Comments
A1A 01

Celebration of FSHP’s Second All-American Road!

On March 29, 2022, the Friends of A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway, Inc. dedicated the A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway designation as an All-American Road, marked by a ribbon cutting ceremony at the Bridge of Lions in St. Augustine, Florida.

A1A 02

National Scenic Byway Foundation, Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), Scenic America, local tourism partners, political leaders, and members of the community were present to support Scenic & Historic A1A’s celebratory ribbon-cutting.

On a beautiful clear blue sky afternoon, the ribbon-cutting ceremony celebration of Florida’s second ALL-AMERICAN ROAD was attended by guest speakers Florida Representative Tom Leek (District 25), U.S. Congressman Michael Waltz’ District Director (Ret) Brigadier General Ernie Audino, Flagler County Commissioner Greg Hansen, St. Johns County Commissioner Henry Dean, National Scenic Byway Foundation President Dr. Christopher M. Sieverdes, Scenic America’s Mark Falzone, FDOT’s Florida Scenic Highways representatives, dignitaries and friends of the byway organization gathered for the celebration.

A1A 03

Mark Falzone of Scenic America (left) poses with FDOT Central Office and District Leaders.

“Florida’s A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway is truly one of this country’s greatest roadways, and it’s an honor to be here to celebrate its designation as an All-American Road,” said Falzone. “The road itself represents so many outstanding qualities, and the community behind it gives us a great example of how to showcase those qualities to maximize its impact.”

A1a 04

Paul Hiers, FDOT State Production Support Engineer (left), Dean Stoddart, FDOT State Transportation Landscape Architect (center), and Roger Roscoe, FDOT District 7 Scenic Highways Coordinator (right).

Designated in 2021 by the Federal Highway Administration as Florida’s second All-American Road, the A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway is one of 57 U.S. Department of Transportation designated All-American Roads in the United States. The designation celebration coincides with the Building Better Byways Conference, hosted by the Friends of A1A, welcoming the Florida Department of Transportation’s Florida Scenic Highways Program Annual Meeting and the National Scenic Byway Foundation’s Byway Leadership Training.

A1A 05

Janice Charles, FDOT District 2 Scenic Highways Coordinator (left), Claudia Calzaretta, FDOT District 5 Scenic Highways Coordinator (center), and Chris Daun, Chair of the newest designated byway in Florida: Halifax Heritage Byway (right).

“We were so excited to have scenic highway and byway friends join us for this historic moment,” said Friends of A1A Byway Program Administrator Danielle Anderson. “Not only did our colleagues have the opportunity to experience a world class dedication ceremony showcasing our byway community partners, but hosting the Building Better Byways Conference here in St. Augustine offered a chance to strengthen the resolve of scenic highway and byway professionals and volunteers as we move forward with projects to enhance our local communities across America.”

A1a Celebration 081

Ribbon cutting celebration cake representing the St. Augustine’s famous lions of the bridge, ready to celebrate the newly designated All-American Road!

“Byway leaders and our Florida DOT partners are dedicated to protecting and enhancing the unique quality and features of our designated scenic byways,” said Sharon Strouse, executive director of the National Scenic Byway Foundation. “We commend them for their tireless efforts.”

A1A 07

Chris Sieverdes, President of the National Scenic Byway Foundation

A1A 08

View from St. Augustine’s downtown “White Room” venue, where an after-party was held. The view includes the iconic Bridge of Lions to the left.

A1A 09

Stunning View of the Flagler Beach coastline on A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway

The Florida Scenic Highways Program congratulates the A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway for this great All-American Road accomplishment and for their 20th Year Anniversary!

Others in Attendance:

  • FDOT Assistant Secretary Brad Thoburn
  • District Director Gary Hollis representing U.S. Senator Rick Scott
  • S. Park Service Castillo de San Marcos National Monument Superintendent Gordie Wilson
  • Johns County Sheriff Rob Hardwick
  • Flagler County Commissioners David Sullivan and Andy Dance
  • Palm Coast Mayor David Alfin
  • Flagler Beach City Commissioners Ken Bryan and James Sherman
  • Augustine Beach Vice Mayor Dylan Rumrell
  • City of St. Augustine Commissioners Nancy Sikes-Kline and Roxanne Horvath
  • City of St. Augustine City Manager John Regan
  • East Coast Greenway Alliance Florida Coordinator Robert Barto
  • Johns River to Sea Loop Alliance Chair Maggie Ardito
  • Vilano Beach Main Street Executive Director Sallie O’Hara
  • Flagler County Tourism Office Executive Director Amy Lukasik
  • Johns Cultural Council Executive Director Christina Parrish-Stone
  • Augustine, Ponte Vedra & The Beaches Visitors and Convention Bureau President & CEO Richard Goldman
  • Visit Florida Board Member Georgia Turner
  • National Travel Center Managing Director Maree Forbes

Thanks to Danielle Anderson, Byway Administrator
Friends of A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway, Inc.
For providing source content of this blog post.

Learn More about this wonderful byway:
A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway on the FSHP site
Download PDF of A1A Press Release